Posted by: Matt Rice | 03/02/2010

American Idol

I love American Idol. I DVR the show and have watched it faithfully every year. Don’t get me wrong. Simon is no Jack Bauer and does not come close. However, I love seeing the average Joe or Susie make it big time. I love the first couple of weeks. I love to see the ones who can’t sing. I probably need to repent of this, but I love it.

I love the analogy Matt Chandler gave about those who try out for American Idol before the top 24 are named. He said, “It is evident that those who try out for American Idol and really can’t sing, are not involved in biblical community. If they were involved in biblical community (a small group) they would know they can’t sing. “

My point – have a group of people who will tell you the truth that is based on the WORD of God. If you are not in a Huddle Group (this is what we call small groups at The Creek) find one through your church. You are in desperate need of God’s Word. In this setting you will be told honestly that Jesus loves and has a plan for your life even if you can’t sing.

If you don’t get into biblical community you will be humiliated and frustrated and might just have your “pants on the ground.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

