Posted by: Matt Rice | 10/23/2009

Books

I have written in the past about preaching my own stuff. I have a team I often consult for illustrations, and another pastor and I get together to create a sermon calendar. However, I have a conviction to start with the text. I am puzzled and conflicted by pastors who preach 5 chapters from this book or 4 chapters from this book. I love listening to Andy Stanley, Mark Discoll, and Matt Chandler. They have blessed my life and I have learned a lot from the. I have quoted them and adapted an illustration from them, but never preached their messages.

We, at The Creek, have been through Nehemiah, Philippians, Ephesians, and  John to name a few.  It has been hard and sometimes tough, but so rewarding. I encourage you, pastors – preach your stuff. Don’t take the shortcut. Learn from others, read and listen to them, but allow the Holy Spirit of God to “bake” something in you for your people – not to “warm” something up from someone else.

Leave a Reply

Categories

