Posted by: Matt Rice | 09/30/2009

Interruptions

In my house interruptions are often.  Clear, concise, adult conversation only happens after 8:30 pm. Interruptions can be good and some can be bad. I remember a conversation I had with my wife about 15 years ago. I had just finished preaching at my grandmother’s church. Since 87 of the 100 who attend are related to me, they had a good old -fashioned covered dish lunch after the sermon.

My wife turned to me as we were in line – and spotting my cousin from a distance – “Oh, I didn’t know Erin was pregnant.” I mumbled to myself not knowing the information either. A short time later, I found myself walking up to my cousin and greeting her with a hearty, “Congratulations! I did not know you were pregnant!”

She responded, “I’m NOT. I’m just fat.”

A while later I noticed Dana talking to her. I did not want her to make the same mistake I made so I ran over in typical Rice dramatic form, interrupted their conversation, took Dana over to the side to tell her about the truth of the “pregnancy.” Dana responded, “Oh, I meant to say she looked pregnant, not that she was pregnant.”

Sometimes in life you get interrupted. Some interruptions are good and some are bad. God is in control and sometimes He gets our attention by interrupting our “plan” to reveal to us His plan. I want to encourage you to take some time to think about the interruptions in your life – it may be a way God is using to get your attention and redirect your path back to Him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

