Posted by: Matt Rice | 08/31/2009

Psalm 119:153-160

153 Look upon my suffering and deliver me,
for I have not forgotten your law.

154 Defend my cause and redeem me;
preserve my life according to your promise.

155 Salvation is far from the wicked,
for they do not seek out your decrees.

156 Your compassion is great, O LORD;
preserve my life according to your laws.

157 Many are the foes who persecute me,
but I have not turned from your statutes.

158 I look on the faithless with loathing,
for they do not obey your word.

159 See how I love your precepts;
preserve my life, O LORD, according to your love.

160 All your words are true;
all your righteous laws are eternal.

Authority. Some obey it, some resist it, and some flat our deny it. In this Psalm the writer pleaded with God to provide life according to His rules (twice), promises, precepts, and steadfast love (my favorite). Authority is hard to deal with at times. My son Luke often asks me, “Who says so?” after telling him to do something. The sin nature (thanks Adam) has caused us to question and push back on authority.

This Psalm was encouraging to me as the author was asking God to give him guidance based on His standard.

Don’t push back but ask God to give you the standard to live by. His ways are higher than our ways.

Leave a Reply

Categories

