Posted by: Matt Rice | 05/16/2009

The DIRECTION you take DETERMINES your DESTINATION

The Chesapeake Tunnel in Virginia is made of a lot of concrete. My grandfather helped build this underwater tunnel and growing up I thought it was great going in the tunnel. The thought of going underwater was fascinating to me. I would tell my sister we were going underwater and she had to hold her breath. She would try to do it for the whole time.

I remember driving with my dad and brother through the tunnel one night late and getting a flat tire. We could see the exit. My dad got out of the car and changed the tire, and shortly we were back on our way out of the tunnel.

In Philippians, Paul encourages us in 3:14, “To press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” I believe this verse and verse 20 are talking about the sanctification and glorification part of our salvation. Paul was reminding us to walk through life and remember this is not our home. We are citizens of heaven. 

light at end of tunnelYou may be in a tunnel  – your marriage is hurting, your kids are acting up, your finances are a mess, and your job is not going well. I am so encouraged by Paul’s admonition in this section of Philippians to remember your destination.

I think it is best stated this way – THE DIRECTION YOU TAKE DETERMINES YOUR DESTINATION. Don’t take you eyes off of the destination waiting you. You may go though a tunnel and get a “flat” tire, but keep your eyes fixed on the prize.

Responses

  1. Great talking to you today. I’ll definitely stay in touch!


Leave a Reply

Categories

