Posted by: Matt Rice | 04/02/2009

The Creek Church – Part 2

In 1989 the South Windsor Bobcats made it to the Connecticut state football championship. I was a junior at South Windsor High School. We played Bristol Eastern and lost 17-14 on a last second dropped punt. What position did I play? I didn’t play. I was in the bleachers. I felt helpless.

The bleachers are cold at times, a very frustrating place to be in game time, and very  2005-09-september-29-pictures-01a-bleacherslonely. Whether you like sports or not  – the most exciting place to be is on the field. The same can be said of the church – the best place to be is on the “field” serving God with reckless abandon. Not inactively watching things unfold on a cold set of bleachers.

Who are the people in the bleachers?   They are people who are unchurched. They may or may not have a relationship with God.  For some reason or other they are not in church, not interested in spiritual things and therefore inactive when it comes to participating in God’s plan of worldwide Gospel proclamation.  They are in the bleachers while their purpose can only be understood in total surrender to God’s plan.

So what do we do? Some in the bleachers are looking to be loved and told about Christ. Some are not there yet.  When we encounter people like this we must simply love them, serve them, and tell them. Hopefully one day they will move closer to being on the field. The best news about this is that we don’t move them – it is God who moves them. We just love them.

The bleachers can be an ugly place because those who are there are not fulfilling their purpose to glorify God.  Guess what? I’m not in the bleachers and I am not pretty sometimes too. God loves the world. He loves them regardless if they know him or are serving him.

If you are in the bleachers you don’t know WHO or WHAT you are missing by being able to be his “workmanship.”  So, the first step in our process is to love people who are far from God so that one-day they can know him. Because knowing him is where the action happens. 

Responses

  1. Bro! I love your vision and passion to reach the people of NW Cary. Keep up the good work on the blog posts. This is a great series you got going on right now. Partnering with and alongside you for the sake of King Jesus in RDU and beyond!

    Jason

  2. Bro! I love your vision and passion to reach the people of NW Cary. Keep up the good work on the blog posts. This is a great series you got going on right now. Partnering with and alongside you for the sake of King Jesus in RDU and beyond!

    Jason

  3. As I read your post, I had the mental picture of me in high school. I was never picked to play in the game. I was always the last person picked for a team. I wasn’t athletic and had little to offer in terms of winning any sporting event. As I waited for my name to be finally picked, very reluctantly I might add, I felt embarrassed and angry because it was like everyone else had some kind of skill to offer but I was always the last choice. I felt helpless too but it was in a different way. I like feeling part of something big and I look forward to partnering and I pray we will always extend ourselves to those who might feel left out and overlooked. I praise Jesus that He saw fit to pick me, to God be the glory!


Leave a Reply

Categories

