Posted by: Matt Rice | 08/20/2008

STEADFAST

Steadfast – 

1. fixed in direction; steadily directed: a steadfast gaze.
2. firm in purpose, resolution, faith, attachment, etc., as a person: a steadfast friend.
3. unwavering, as resolution, faith, adherence, etc.
4. firmly established, as an institution or a state of affairs.
5. firmly fixed in place or position.

I have been reading in Psalms for a while now. I am overwhelmed by the word STEADFAST. I am challenged and a bit perplexed by this word. In Psalms 115:1 says “for your steadfast love…” In Psalm 117:2 it says, “For great is his steadfast love toward us…” And in Psalm 118:1 it says, “for his steadfast love endures forever!”

The Lord is sending me a lesson on his steadfast love. Steadfast is an adjective describing his love for his people. His love is firm, unwavering, and fixed.  When I reflect on the blessing of having 4 kids I am beginning to see this in a whole new light.

My kids are busy, dependent, demanding, sweet, fun, funny, and spastic. My life is too. Each day is different with a whole new set of demands. However, I love the fool out of those 4. Andrew is a learning machine, Mollie is a giggle box, Luke has more questions than my Granny Bundy during your favorite TV show, and Jake has discovered the stairs.

My love for these kids is steadfast. It does not move, is fixed, and unwavering……like my Father. What a great teacher. What a great lesson.

Leave a Reply

Categories

