Posted by: Matt Rice | 07/16/2008

I’m back with no promises.

I have a question….How do you do it? It in this post is defined by the daily grind of planting a church, taking care of your family (I have 4 kids….5,4,2,1 (sounds better to say 1 than 11 months for this post), personal devotion, and sermon preparation. Something has to give…..and therefore I left the blogging world for a time. BUT, I am back with no promises. I desire to catch you up on the church plant, life and attempt to challenge you a bit. 

First, THE CREEK CHURCH held her first service independent of Apex Baptist on June 29th at Carpenter Elementary School. We had 97 people. This day was incredible to see the people come together and serve. I love the team at THE CREEK. You bless me and encourage me!! We have had 3 services. Sunday, July 20th (my anniversary) will be our first full month. For those of you interested in finding a church home, who have never been to church, or recently re-located to the area services start at 9:45 each Sunday at Carpenter Elementary on Morrisville Parkway in Cary, NC. 

Second, on July 20th we will start a new sermon series titled, “Encounters.” We will look at Jesus who encountered people in the Bible and how he shared with them. I am excited to see how this will encourage our team to be active in sharing their faith. 

Next, the Rice’s are well. Andrew will go to Green Hope Elementary on Monday, July 28th. We are excited about this. Mollie loves her purses and baby. Luke is mister investigative. Jake is the best army crawler I have ever seen. Dana is still WonderWoman and I am still not making any promises. 

I want to use this as a tool to keep up with you and encourage you. I have learned a very hard lesson in the past two months. You cannot do everything. If you honor scripture – which I highly recommend – then you can do all you can with excellence because of HIM. So, realize you cannot do everything and do what you can with excellence. Don’t start something and not finish.

Any advice out there on how you balance the daily grind of a surrendered life?

Responses

  1. One of the best ways that the Lord has shown me to help cope (for lack of a better word) with the daily grind and all of the trials that come with that is perspective. One night as I was praying with Brayden the Lord really impressed upon me how the struggles that I was going through were to prepare me for His Kingdom’s work. When you begin to look at trials as a tool that God is using it is actually a peaceful place to be. You begin to realize that if He is using this situation to further your life then it has to end in a better place! And all of a sudden the stress and anxiety go away and a joy enters. Remember this is the what James was telling us:

    James 1:2 (New American Standard Bible)
    2 Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, 3knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. 4 And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

    God Bless ~ Tyler


Leave a Reply

Categories

