Posted by: Matt Rice | 12/27/2007

SOMEBODY IS WATCHING YOU

I am a hands on dad. I love hanging out with my kids. I have been doing a lot of “hanging” over the Christmas break.  It has been a great time. I have also been doing some reading in I Kings 15:25-26. The bible states how Nadab was Jeroboam’s son and he reigned over Israel for 2 years. In verse 26 it says, “He did what was evil in the sight of the Lord and walked in the way of his father.”  

I have 4 kids and I can see the older two doing things I do. I have to admit that this is overwelming. I personally praise God that he wired me to encourage people. I especially love to encourage my wife. Andrew, my oldest, is such an encourager. He tells his mother everyday how beautiful she is. For instance, he once told her she was HOT….I have no idea where he heard this.

I want to pass on a Godly legacy to my kids. I want them to witness and experience a supernatural working of God in their lives. I want to lead them to lift up the very name of God. I don’t want them to follow in the footsteps of an apathetic, casual, lazy, evil and sorry excuse for a Christian. I want to pass on to them the blessings there are in Christ and encourage them to walk in them. Simply put…I don’t want to be a Jeroboam and have my boys turn into Nadab.

Last week, I was with my older boys getting haircuts and upon leaving, I saw a lady with a car problem. We stopped to help her ( my dad and brother are laughing)  and did the best we could. I was out there for about 40 minutes and had the chance to share the Gospel with this lady. She was not a Christian but I got to tell her about Christ.

As I got in the car to leave, Andrew asked why I stopped. I told him, “Because we needed to help this lady and also tell her about Jesus.” He responded, “That was good Dad. Jesus would be happy about that.”

If you have kids you will learn that SOMEBODY IS WATCHING YOU….SO GO REPRESENT!

Leave a Reply

Categories

